Meet a Bookseller: Russ

photo 4 (1) (1)Meet Russ, poet, teacher, musician, and bookseller!

1.) What do you do at Literati?
I’m a part-time bookseller. I also teach writing at the University of Michigan and write poetry. I really enjoy working with customers at Literati, making book recommendations, and generally trying to do my part to help make the store the best it can be. I actually really love shelving and organizational work too. It gives me the opportunity to get more familiar with titles from all the different sections in the store.  I am always really energized by conversations with our amazing customers. It is a pleasure to see the great joy the practice of reading brings people.
2.) What do you do when you’re not selling books?
Besides teaching and writing I like to see live music, play banjo, and stay active (biking, climbing, kickball, skipping stones). And, of course, reading! I try to engage in the great community of artists, musicians, writers, people, and pets that make Ann Arbor so awesome.
3.) What are your top five favorite books?
Top 5 is hard. I read the Knausgaard books compulsively and obsessively. Other books that are important in my life right now include Adrienne Rich’s Your Native Land, Your Life, Brandon Som’s The Tribute Horse, and H is for Hawk
4.) What are you reading right now?
I recently finished City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg. I’m rereading Things that Are by Amy Leach and I just started Speak by Louisa Hall.
–GMBA

Leave a Reply

