Meet a Bookseller: Mairead!

Meet the wonderful Mairead:

photo (15)

1.) What do you do at Literati?
I’m Literati’s Assistant Event Coordinator. Along with John, our boss Events Boss, I keep track of the (packed! hoo boy!) event schedule, making sure that authors are confirmed, descriptions are on the website, books have been ordered, etc. I respond to author and publisher inquiries, send requests to the major publishers to try and nab authors we love, and help with the nitty-gritty on the day of. As we take on more and more events (seriously, have you seen this schedule?), I’ll be handling most of our off-site events, like the Zell Visiting Writers Series at UMMA, anything at the Ann Arbor or Ypsilanti libraries, etc. I get to use “etc.” a lot.

2.) What do you do when you’re not at the bookstore?
Write, hopefully. My good old U-of-M MFA’s in poetry, but I’m currently working on a collection of essays about weird stuff I’m into: anatomical texts, glass art, classical myth, country music, professional wrestling, ampersands, maps. That sort of thing.
3.) Top five favorite books.
Let’s stick to one section to keep things manageable. Essay collections I’ve loved lately include White Girls by Hilton Als, Notes from No Man’s Land by Eula Biss, Loitering by Charles D’Ambrosio, The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison, Things That Are by Amy Leach, Love and Other Ways of Dying by Michael Paterniti, and Pulphead by John Jeremiah Sullivan. That’s seven. I’m sorry.
4.) What are you currently reading?
I just finished Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff, a novel that comes out next week and is dynamite. (Join Literati Cultura and you can get a signed first edition!) Now I’m onto Marlon James’s A Brief History of Seven Killings, fiction-wise, and Trace by Lauret Savoy for my daily nonfiction dose. Trace is a really lovely intertwining of geology, history, environmental studies, and race relations (and it’s the Cultura pick for November!). It reminds me a lot of Terry Tempest Williams, if she’s your jam. On top of my to-read stack are Eileen Pollack’s The Only Woman in the Room, William Finnegan’s Barbarian Days, and poetry by Christopher Gilbert.

Leave a Reply

