Meet a Bookseller: Claire

Meet our darling Claire!photo 2 (5)

1.) What do you do at Literati?
I am a bookseller, first and foremost, but I also dabble in the social media arts. I manage the store’s Tumblr page, posting original content but also “reblogging” anything that I think is interesting or similar to Literati’s aesthetic goals. I also create many of the little handwritten signs you see throughout the store, including some of the chalk work. I think my favorite thing to do at Literati is curate displays. Some of the work I am most proud of are the thematic wall displays I’ve made (most notably, the holiday display wall next to the staircase). I have so much fun thinking of and collecting books I think people will find most interesting. I also love love love writing shelftalkers for my favorite books. It is such a gratifying feeling to have someone come up to me and say, “I have loved every book you have recommended.” It reminds me everyday why I love doing what I do: inspiring people to read.
 
2.) What do you do when you’re not at the bookstore?

As well as being a master book slinger, I am currently a junior at the University of Michigan. I am majoring in English (big surprise there) and working on a minor in Art History. I constantly feel so lucky to be able to study what I really love. I recently (four days ago) returned from Paris, where I was studying for six weeks. Is there a better place in the world to study literature and art history than Paris? I don’t think so. As far as hobbies, I don’t think you all would be very surprised. I read a lot. I also spend a great deal of time with my family in northern Michigan (Leelanau County, to be precise), my home away from home.

3.) Top five favorite books. 

Whenever someone asks me this question, I always feel like my answers are inadequate. I am still so young and every year, I read a new book and think, “nothing will ever get better than this.” Except for the entire Harry Potter series. Those will always be my number one. Currently, my other top four favorite books are, in no specific order:

The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt
Bluets, Maggie Nelson
Sharp Objects, Gillian Flynn
 
4.) What are you currently reading?
The Little Friend, Donna Tartt (Do you see a pattern emerging?)

One thought on “Meet a Bookseller: Claire

  1. Lisa Marie

    I visited Literati last weekend and noticed that Claire had recommended several books I’ve loved, so I went around the bookstore and wrote down (on paper) every one of her recommendations that I hadn’t already read. I took the list home and started looking up some of the titles for more information. I set down the list and went to bed. In the morning, I discovered by dog, Baer, had eaten a good part of the list. Fortunately he left enough paper for me to identify 8 books. Looking forward to reading your picks, Claire!

Leave a Reply

