Meet a Bookseller: Deb

Meet Deb!

1.) What do you do at Literati?

I am a part-time bookseller at Literati. I have a lot of things I like to do there including Saturday morning Storytime, where I get to read to groups of young children. I can’t decide which I like better: introducing people to new authors or discovering new authors myself. I tend to read mystery books, young adult and nonfiction. Particularly British and Revolutionary or Colonial American history. Biography, too. Pretty much anything on our 1st floor, except philosophy.

2.) What are you up to when you’re not selling books at Literati?

When I am not at Literati, my full-time job is as Executive Director of the Great Lakes Independent Booksellers Association. GLIBA is a non-profit trade organization that supports and promotes independent bookstores in Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan and Ohio. I have been working in bookselling and publishing in various positions for over 30 years. My degrees in social psychology do come in handy sometimes.

3.) Top five favorite books of all time? What are you reading right now?

My favorite books at this moment in time are Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh, Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandell, Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey, and, yes, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Right now I am reading Speak by Louisa Hall, The Flying Circus by Susan Crandall, Signal by Patrick Lee, and Jacksonland by Steve Inskeep.

Leave a Reply

